Willowtail Springs Nature Preserve and Education Center

Integrating the Arts and Natural Sciences

Volunteer Team

Advisory Committees for the Arts, Ecology & Natural Sciences:

  • Holly Cruser, Landscape Designer, Master Gardener Horticulturist
  • Margie Deane Gray, Executive Director, Mesa Verde Foundation
  • Christina Ertezek – Fashion Designer, New Face Productions Board, Durango Art Center Board of Directors
  • Tom Hooten, Director, Montezuma Extension, Colorado State University, 4-H Program, Master Gardner
  • Pat Johnson, Artist
  • Betsey Krill – San Juan Board of Cooperative Educational Services Coordinator, Gifted Education, Regional Consultant
  • Kay Phelps – Assistant Professor Elementary Science Methods, Science for Educators, Literary and Arts Integration, Education Department, Fort Lewis College
  • Margy Dudley, photograher, Writer, Co-Owner, Open Shutter Gallery
  • Carol Salomon, Founding supporter and volunteer for Willowtail.org, nationally recognized Jeweler, Durango Art Center Board of Directors, STEAM (Science Theatre Engineering Art Music) Park Board of Directors, New Face Productions board
  • Judith Swain, Former Director of Sales & Marketing, ARAMARK ‐ Mesa Verde National Park
  • Peggy Zemach – STEAM Park Board of Directors, Crow Canyon Archeological Center, Board of Directors, former Executive Director Durango Art Center
  • Jennie Wrenn, writer, grant writing, Business Owner MexicanTileDesigns, Bayfield, Co. grantwriting assistance for Willowtail
  • Susan Reed, assistance with all ideas, social media, correspondence
  • Regina Hogan, President New Face Productions, curating Sept. 2017 show of Willowtail Residednts at DAC
  • Durango Art Center Staff: Cristie Scott, Executive Director, Peter Hay, Exhibition Director, Katherene Frautschy,Development Director, Julie Madden, Finance Manager, Teresa Carson, Theatre Manager, Sandra Butler, Education Director.

Special thanks to our friends who have given generously of their time, advice and ideas:

  • Heather Leavitt‐Martinez, Rosalind Buffaloe, Linda Bowers, Anne Beach, Marietta Eaton, Penny Lewis, Beth Wetherill, Dian Law, Diane Wildfang, Petra Hinke, Mitchell & Jayne May, Tami Graham, Clara Martinez, Andrea Phillips, Doug & Beverly Capelin, Julie Cooley, Bob & Sue Scott, Sherri Dugdale, Carole Withers

2015 Setup & Fundraiser

Photos: Deborah Sussex and Margy Dudley